Weekly Recap :|| April 10th-16th

I hope everyone is having a wonder Sunday. Every Sunday I will be linking my weekly recap to The Sunday PostShowcase SundayTalk of the Town, Saturday Situation, and Stacking the Shelves! These are amazing blogs, so please skip over and show them some love.   

 

2016-04-14 (2)

This week hasn’t been overly exciting. Here we are in the middle of April and it stills feels like Winter. I guess that is what happens when you live in Nova Scotia, Canada. Over the last few years, our Springs and Summers have been getting shorter and shorter. So this week I have been still hibernating in my house with a blanket wrapped around me. I wish I had thick skin like the kids. They see no problem going outside in 4°C barely dress. “Oh Mom, it’s so warm outside,” they say.

I’ve been trying to workout more this week. I have been gaining weight and starting to feel a little depressed with it. However, my body doesn’t want to cooperate with me. I find my body stiff, especially my hips and legs. I’ve been trying to do daily yoga but I can’t say I am feeling any better. Some of its the weathers fault, but that doesn’t contribute to my stiffness.

This week I haven’t been watching much TV, but every night I have been trying to watch at least one episode of Supernatural. I have finally made it to the midway point of season 8.

supernatual

 

2016-04-14 (4)

7965909859686510473144238481241607593518335634

This week was #genrethon so I managed to read a variety of different books. Some I enjoyed and well, other not so much.

  1. Disney’s Alice in Wonderland Graphic Novel by Alessandro Ferrari I love Alice in Wonderland and I love Tim Burton. At first I wasn’t so keen on the graphics, but just like Tim Burton’s movies, they grew on me.
  2. Letters to Juliet by Lise Friedman and Ceil Friedman was not what I was expecting. I was hoping for the movie in a book form; however, I got a history of the letters and the dedication of the people writing them. At times I felt like I was reading a text book.
  3. Don’t Expect Magic by Kathy McCullough The best thing about this book was the last 50 pages.
  4. A Wild Swan: And Other Tales by Michael Cunningham LOVED LOVED LOVED…These are not the fairy tales that your mother read to you.
  5. A Midsummer Night’s Scream by R.L. Stine It was an okay book, just like all other R.L Stine books. It did have the awful trope of wanting the boy that doesn’t even look her way.
  6. Clockwork Princess by Cassandra Clare…I don’t know what took me so long to read this series, but I loved it.

2016-04-14 (3)

 

I’ve been putting Rot & Ruin on hold while I’ve been doing #genrethon, but by the looks of it, I’ll be keeping it on hold for another week while I do #authorathon

 

2016-04-14 (5)

I am participating in #authorathon and will be this 4 Rainbow Rowell books. I have already read Fangirl and Carry On.

2016-04-14 (6)

2016-04-14 (7)

I will be adding more post hopefully, but I am not sure what at the moment. I am trying to figure out a posting schedule.

  • Monday April 18th – Net Galley Reads To Check Out
  • Tuesday April 19th – Book Review: Paper Girls by Brian K. Vaughan
  • Wednesday April 20th – WWW Wednesday
  • Friday April 22nd – Friday Finds
  • Sunday April 24th – Weekly Recap

2016-04-14 (8)

Today is finishing up #genrethon. You can check out my updates to see how I made it throughout this readathon. I also gained 10 subscribers this week 🙂 and it is all because of a wonderful booktuber (Emily Hornburg)  giving me a shout out. You can check her channel out here.

2016-04-14 (9)

  • Monday April 18th – April Weekly Wrap-up #3 :|| #GENRETHON Wrap-up
  • Wednesday April 20th – #Authorathon Update
  • Saturday April 23rd -30 Second Saturday (Mini Book Review)

2016-04-14 (10)

NETGALLEY

I wanted to read some graphic novels and all of these looked liked something I would enjoy. You can get all of these for Read Now on Netgalley.

WON IN GIVEAWAY/FROM PUBLISHER

b94a7c9d995ef62597167706d41444341587343The lonely and grieving Evan Umbra is the newest Venator to enter Veneseron, the school for demon hunters.

A Venator is a wizard, a spy and a demon hunter rolled into one. They’re taught how to wield their sorcery and enchanted weaponry by orcs, elfpires and aliens alike.

Their missions range from battling monsters and saving countless lives in the multiple worlds, to the more peculiar, like wrangling killer unicorns and calming down drunken yetis.

In their free time Venators enjoy goblin soap-opera’s and underwater
bubble travel, but they also understand that every new mission they’re given could be their last.

Whilst learning how to manipulate the elements, summon magical creatures and shoot Spellzookas, Evan meets a girl who makes him feel nauseous; but in a good way.

He makes the first friends he’s ever had in the carefree Jed and the reckless Brooke. Whilst Jed gets on the wrong side of a rival Venator, Brooke finds herself falling for the enigmatic demon hunter who brought her to Veneseron, not knowing he isn’t quite human. But it soon becomes apparent that Evan is more than just a Venator. Everyone wants to kill or capture him, from demons to Dark-Venators and even people he’s supposed to be able to trust.

Evan reckons he probably won’t survive his first year at Veneseron.

*I won an ebook copy of this @librarything from the author


Five friends wake up to discover they are left alone on Earth–the rest of humanity is gone.
Empty streets are littered with stalled-out cars, buses, and motorcycles. A sunless and moonless sky is covered with an enormous barrier that prevents any view of the heavens.
And silence, pervasive and absolute, reigns. Nothing stirs. The air is oppressive and there is no wind, not even the softest breeze.Alignment: The Silent City (Alignment, #1)
As far as the five friends can tell, there isn’t another living thing on earth other than them, neither animal nor plant. What happened to life on earth while they slept? Or is it that something happened to them? Are they still on earth, or have they somehow been transported elsewhere? If so, where? Heaven? Hell? Another planet? Or are they pawns in a sophisticated computer game? Or is it all just their imagination?
Aram believes they aren’t dead. He believes if there is a way into the Silent World, then there must be a way out. He convinces his friends to stay focused and put up a worthy fight to find their way back to the reality they once knew. He can’t give up, because somewhere out there, beyond the frightening new world, his new-born son is waiting for his Daddy’s return.

*Was giving an ebook copy from the author

FREE KINDLE DOWNLOADS   

 

51EWPScxacL._SX308_BO1,204,203,200_The Ghost Files by Apryl Baker

Cherry blossom lipstick: check
Smokey eyes: check
Skinny jeans: check
Dead kid in the mirror: check

For sixteen year old Mattie Hathaway, this is her normal everyday routine. She’s been able to see ghosts since her mother tried to murder her when she was five years old. No way does she want anyone to know she can talk to spooks. Being a foster kid is hard enough without being labeled a freak too.

Normally, she just ignores the ghosts and they go away. That is until she see’s the ghost of her foster sister… Sally.

Everyone thinks Sally’s just another runaway, but Mattie knows the truth—she’s dead. Murdered. Mattie feels like she has to help Sally, but she can’t do it alone. Against her better judgment, she teams up with a young policeman, Officer Dan, and together they set out to discover the real truth behind Sally’s disappearance.

Only to find out she’s dealing with a much bigger problem, a serial killer, and she may be the next victim…

Will Mattie be able to find out the truth before the killer finds her?

 

PURCHASED

I bought the 3 books from the Lunar Chronicles series new from my local bookstore. I have read these books and wanted them for my collection since I know I will be reading them again. I got the Outlander series from my local buying site. I already had book 1 and 5 but they were selling them all for $10 so which was less than if I bought them separately.

floral-separator

How was your reading week? If you have a weekly update, please link below so I can check it out.  I hope everyone had a wonderful reading week.

2016-04-14 (12)

 

7 thoughts on “Weekly Recap :|| April 10th-16th

  1. Oh my goodness, Marie, I’m in awe of all your new books – there are so many amazing ones, too!
    Sorry spring still hasn’t arrived in Nova Scotia, hopefully it’s going to get there soon. I was so sick and tired of the cold, so I presume you are, too.
    Have a wonderful week ahead and happy reading.

    Like

    • Thank you 🙂 Yes I really need some warmth, my bones are starting to freeze lol. Have a great reading week as well.

      Like

  2. It feels like spring here, we had some nice weather last week, although it’s cloudy and windy today. I hope you get some warmer weather soon! I heard good things about Supernatural, but haven’t watched it myself. I hope you’ll have a great week!

    Like

Leave a comment