Wraith by Joe Hill (GRAPHIC NOVEL REVIEW)

Wraith

Title: Wraith
Author: Joe Hill, Charles Paul Wilson III (Illustrations)
Genre: Graphic Novel, Horror
Publisher: IDW Publishing
Publication Date: August 2014
Pages: 172 pages
How did I get this book: Library Loan

 

 

 

 

 

 

Description (Goodreads)

Joe Hill’s New York Times Bestselling novel, NOS4A2, introduced readers to the terrifying funhouse world of Christmasland, and the mad man who rules there: Charlie Talent Manx III. Now, in an original new comic mini-series, Hill throws wide the candy cane gates to tell a standalone story that is at once both accessible to new readers, and sure to delight fans of the book.

 

My Thoughts

I have been slowly reading Joe Hill’s graphic novel series, Locke & Key. This series is dark, creepy, and weird so I was excited to fall over his standalone graphic novel at the library. Wraith is just as dark, creepy, and weird.

If you have ever read NOS4A2 by Joe Hill then you know about Christmasland. Unfortunately, I have not read any of Hill’s novels so I am not sure how Christmasland fits into the novel, but after reading the graphic novel I am definitely interested in reading the book.

Charlie Manx was tricked out of his money for a dream of Christmas all year long. Is Christmasland real?? Well, to Manx it is, but there is something about Chistmasland that changes everyone. In the beginning of the story, I had no clue what was going on.

At the end of the story…I still didn’t have any idea what was going on.

The graphics were beautiful and creepy

It has a lot of great references of what comes around goes around, but other then that I still closed the graphic novel feeling a sense of weirdness. I am hoping that once I read NOS4A2 by Joe Hill, I will have a better understanding.

RATING: 

 

2 thoughts on “Wraith by Joe Hill (GRAPHIC NOVEL REVIEW)

Leave a Reply

