Crisanta Knight: Protagonist Bound by Geanna Culbertson (BOOK REVIEW)

Crisanta Knight: Protagonist Bound

Title: Crisanta Knight: Protagonist Bound
Author: Geanna Culbertson
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Fairy Tale
Publisher: Boutique of Quality Books
Publication Date: May 2016
Pages: 434
How did I get this book: I received an ARC from Net Galley

 

 

 

Description (Goodreads)

I was going to be a great protagonist. At least that’s what my mom, Cinderella, kept telling me. I, however, had my doubts. Unlike most main characters at Lady Agnue’s School for Princesses & Other Female Protagonists, I was opinionated, bold, and headstrong.

Moreover, for a princess, I had a lot of issues. I’m talking vicious nightmares about people I’ve never met, a total stalker prince, and a Fairy Godmother for an enemy. But I digress. Because here’s the thing about living in an enchanted realm of fairytale characters, crazy junk you never planned on happens all the time. One minute you could be practicing fainting exercises in Damsels in Distress class, sword fighting in a field, or flying on a Pegasus, and the next, BAM! Your book has begun and you’re saddled with a prophecy that changes everything.

I still don’t know if I will be a great protagonist one day. But I know one thing about my fate, for certain. Despite what The Author and the antagonists have in store for me, whatever it costs. . .I’ll be the one taking charge of my own story.

 

My Thoughts

Opening up this book is like starting a Disney movie. You know when a movie starts and you hear the protagonist talking about what their life was supposed to look like or the path they were supposed to take? This the feeling that I got.

We have SJ which stand for Snow Junior, Snow Whites daughter if you didn’t guess that. She is brilliant when it comes to potions and embraces her princess side. Next is Blue who is not a princess at all. She wears a blue cloak like her sister who wears a red one…can you guess who that is. And Last we have Crisanta Knight who is the daughter of Cinderella, but fights against everything that is her mother’s world. All three are different, but have become best friends throughout their years at Lady Agnue’s School for Princesses & Other Female Protagonists.

Oh and did I mentioned that they live in a place called Book where someone called the Author writes their future for them (this kind of sounds like a TV show I watch). While most people in Book accept that this is how their life is and how it has been for as far back as anyone can remember, but this is something that Crisanta can not accept.

movie reaction princess seriously disney princess

I did lose some steam during the middle, but it picked back up again leaving me anticipating the end. I thought I knew what was going to happen. It just seemed like a fun story about the children of my old fairy tales; however, it turned out to be something much more. A quest to change Book. Once Crisanta and her friends set out on this quest we discover secrets…secrets that I never seen coming.

Crisanta was a strong female character that didn’t want someone else telling her what to do and how to live her life. She didn’t want to be forced to be a princess when she had another path in her mind. I love characters like this, but I did have one problem with Crisanta. She doesn’t want to be a damsel in distress that she has a difficult time accepting help when needed.

Does this sound like something you would like to read? You should know that this is only book one which will leave you wanting to know what happens. Book 2 will be coming to the series in December 2016. I thought this was a standalone going in. I was disappointed and excited when I got to the end.

One more thing — it could of had a better cover, but that doesn’t take away from what was inside.

This ebook was given by the author, narrator, or publisher at no cost in exchange for an unbiased review via Net Galley.

Author

Screen Shot 2015-10-28 at 10.03.15 AM

You can find out more about  Geanna Culbertson and her work.

Website | Twitter | Instagram | Pinterest

 

 

 

 

 

RATING: 

Did I like it? Yes, I loved entering a fairy tale world through a different door
Would I reread it? Yes I will
Would I purchase it? Yes this is going on my list of books to buy
Would I recommend it? If you like fairy tales or even the TV show Once Upon A Time, then I think you will like this.

 

 

One thought on “Crisanta Knight: Protagonist Bound by Geanna Culbertson (BOOK REVIEW)

Leave a Reply

