AUDIOBOOK REVIEW: Ice and Bone: Tracking An Alaskan Serial Killer by Monte Francis

Ice and Bone: Tracking An Alaskan Serial Killer

Title: Ice and Bone: Tracking an Alaskan Serial Killer
Author: Monte Francis
Narrated by: Kevin Pierce
Genre: Non-Fiction, True Crime
Publisher: WildBlue Press
Publication Date: May 2016
Lenght: 8hrs 35mins
How did I get this book: Audiobook Boom

 

 

 

 

 

Description (Goodreads)

On a clear, brisk night in September of 2000, 33-year-old Della Brown was found sexually assaulted and beaten to death inside a filthy, abandoned shed in seedy part of Anchorage, Alaska. She was one of six women, mostly Native Alaskan, slain that year, stoking fears a serial killer was on the loose. A tanned and thuggish 20-year-old would eventually implicate himself in three of the women’s deaths and confess, in detail, to Della’s murder. Yet, after a three-month trial, Joshua Wade would walk free. In 2007, when Wade kidnapped a well-loved nurse psychologist from her home and then executed her in the remote wilderness of Wasilla, two astute female detectives joined forces to finally bring him to justice.

ICE AND BONE is the chilling true account of how a demented murderer initially evaded police and avoided conviction only to slip back into the shadows and kill again. Journalist and writer Monte Francis tells the harrowing story of what eventually led to Wade’s capture, and reveals why the true scope of his murderous rampage is only now, more than a decade later, coming into view.

 

My Thoughts

This is a tragic story about a series of murders in Alaska during 2000. Francis did a wonderful job explaining the unfortunate events that took place during this time.

This book includes:

  1. The descriptions of the terrible deaths
  2. The hunt for the killer
  3. How the deaths impacted the families
  4. A look into the life of Joshua Wade
  5. The comparison between Joshua Wade’s actions and those of a serial killer

 

This is a great book for anyone that enjoys true crime books. The description of the deaths were difficult to get through but it was a very short part – I just wanted to give warning.

I’m not sure if I completely agree with saying that Joshua Wade was a serial killer, but it was interesting in listening to the comparison.

How was the audiobook?

Kevin Pierce did a fantastic job narrating. It was very enjoyable to listen to, keeping me fully engaged. Even though I like reading true crime books, I have to be honest that they sometimes can get a little boring towards the middle. Pierce kept this part going for me leaving me wanting to listen to a few more minutes.

This audiobook was given by the author, narrator, or publisher at no cost in exchange for an unbiased review via Audiobook Boom.

Rating: 

Did I like it? Yes
Would I reread it? No, I don’t normally reread true crime books
Would I purchase it? No because I don’t plan on rereading it.
Would I recommend it? Yes, especially to anyone that enjoys reading true crime books.

 

 

3 thoughts on “AUDIOBOOK REVIEW: Ice and Bone: Tracking An Alaskan Serial Killer by Monte Francis

  1. Nice review and good job with all the audio-book. I have noticed that you have been going through quite a number of them. I like thrillers and I think I would love to read this one. Yet to listen to my first audio-book though.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’ve been really enjoying audiobooks. They are new to me and took me a couple of them before I got in the swing. I like that I can read books when I can’t find the time to sit down. I enjoyed the narrator for this one. It made getting through the boring parts easier that normally show up in true crime.

      Like

Leave a Reply

