WWW Wednesday – May 11, 2016

WWW Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Sam @ Taking on the World of Words. To participate, all you have to do is answer the 3W questions.

  1. What are you currently reading?
  2. What did you recently finish reading?
  3.  What do you think that you’ll read next?

I am also linking up with This Week in Books meme hosted @Lipsyy Lost & Found where you post what your reading Now, Then and Next.


 

WHAT ARE YOU CURRENTLY READING?

As you might remember, I am participating in #BookBuddyAThon and #BoutofBooks. These are the 3 books that I am currently reading for both readathons. So far I am enjoying all of them.

WHAT DID YOU RECENTLY FINISH READING?

21524255Ghouls live among us, the same as normal people in every way—except their craving for human flesh. Ken Kaneki is an ordinary college student until a violent encounter turns him into the first half-human half-ghoul hybrid. Trapped between two worlds, he must survive Ghoul turf wars, learn more about Ghoul society and master his new powers.

Unable to discard his humanity but equally unable to suppress his Ghoul hunger, Ken finds salvation in the kindness of friendly Ghouls who teach him how to pass as human and eat flesh humanely. But recent upheavals in Ghoul society attract the police like wolves to prey, and they don’t discriminate between conscientious and monstrous Ghouls.

I just want to say that if you are looking for a new manga to start and like ghoulish things…then I would recommend this one. 

WHAT DO YOU THINK THAT YOU’LL READ NEXT?

25472765 A sharp, funny, delightfully unhinged collection of stories set in the dark world of domesticity, American Housewife features murderous ladies who lunch, celebrity treasure hunters, and the best bra fitter south of the Mason Dixon line.

Meet the women of American Housewife: they wear lipstick, pearls, and sunscreen, even when it’s cloudy. They casserole. They pinwheel. They pump the salad spinner like it’s a CPR dummy. And then they kill a party crasher, carefully stepping around the body to pull cookies out of the oven. These twelve irresistible stories take us from a haunted prewar Manhattan apartment building to the set of a rigged reality television show, from the unique initiation ritual of a book club to the getaway car of a pageant princess on the lam, from the gallery opening of a tinfoil artist to the fitting room of a legendary lingerie shop. Vicious, fresh, and nutty as a poisoned Goo Goo Cluster,American Housewife is an uproarious, pointed commentary on womanhood.

 

How is your reading going this week? If you have a reading update, post your link in the comments so I can check it out. If not, what has been your favorite read so far this week?

2016-04-14 (12)

15 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday – May 11, 2016

  1. I like the sound of “murderous ladies who lunch”! Sounds great fun 🙂
    I really enjoyed The Ocean at the End of the Lane. I still have no idea what the heck happened, but it was still good and I particularly liked the female characters.
    I also though Me Before You was good. I didn’t love it as much as most people seem to, but it was good and it looks like they’ve made a good job of the film.

    Thanks for visiting my WWW post (https://clairehuston.wordpress.com/2016/05/11/www-wednesday-11th-may-2016/) and happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The Ocean At The End Of The Lane is one of my favorite Gaiman’s; I hope you keep enjoying it! And while I didn’t love Me Before You like most people, it was still a pretty good read.

    Happy reading! Here’s my WWW.

    Like

    • Everyone seem to like The Ocean at the End of the Lane. This is my first Gaiman, but so far I am enjoying it. I am also enjoying Me Before You. I am not sure what the hype was all about but it is a good read.

      Liked by 1 person

      • If you are interested in another Gaiman, Neverwhere is my absolute favorite and I would definitely recommend it. I had a similar feeling when I read Me Before You, but like you said it is quite a good book anyway. Happy reading!

        Like

  3. I hope you enjoy The Ocean at the End of the Lane. It was a bit fantastical for my taste but the writing was beautiful. Happy reading and thanks for participating in WWW Wednesday!

    Like

    • This is my first Gaiman so I really have nothing to compare it to. The writing is wonderful but the story is weird…enjoyable, but weird 🙂 I hope American Housewife Stories is good. I am trying to hold off until I am done the other books.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

