BOOK REVIEW: Paper Girls, Vol 1 by Brian K. Vaughan

Title: Paper Girls, Volume 1
Author: Brian K. Vaughan
Illustrators: Cliff Chiang and Matthew Wilson
Rating: 3 ½ Stars
Publisher: Image Comics
Publication Date: April 5, 2016
Pages: 144
How did I get this? An ARC copy from Net Galley

 

2016-04-17 (2)In the early hours after Halloween of 1988, four 12-year-old newspaper delivery girls uncover the most important story of all time. Suburban drama and otherworldly mysteries collide in this smash-hit series about nostalgia, first jobs, and the last days of childhood. (Goodreads)

 

2016-04-17 (1)

I was excited to get a copy of this from Net Galley for an honest review. I am a big fan of the Saga series by Brian K. Vaughan and had high expectation for this graphic novel. However, I was quickly let down. I am not saying that this was no good, but my mind wanted to compare it to Saga the whole time.

The story is compelling. These paper girls stumble upon some weird sci-fi stuff that that my mind is still trying to process. The characters bring their own personality to the story. One minute you hate them and then the next you are feeling sorry for them.

I just wasn’t completely sold on the story and felt there was something missing. Maybe we just haven’t got there yet. Also I didn’t enjoy the graphics as much as I did in Saga. I know, different illustrators. I was hoping the graphic would grow on me, but they didn’t.

 

Are you interested in checking out Paper Girls? You can held over to Net Galley now and still pick up your ARC copy.

2016-04-14 (12)

 

One thought on “BOOK REVIEW: Paper Girls, Vol 1 by Brian K. Vaughan

Leave a Reply

