Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

51F3HGA9FQL._SX330_BO1,204,203,200_
5/5 Stars

Name: Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda
Author: Becky Albertalli
Genre: YA Contemporary
Publication Date: April 7, 2015
Publisher: Balzer + Bray
Pages: 303
How did I get this book: Library

Synopsis

Sixteen-year-old and not-so-openly gay Simon Spier prefers to save his drama for the school musical. But when an email falls into the wrong hands, his secret is at risk of being thrust into the spotlight. Now Simon is actually being blackmailed: if he doesn’t play wingman for class clown Martin, his sexual identity will become everyone’s business. Worse, the privacy of Blue, the pen name of the boy he’s been emailing, will be compromised.

With some messy dynamics emerging in his once tight-knit group of friends, and his email correspondence with Blue growing more flirtatious every day, Simon’s junior year has suddenly gotten all kinds of complicated. Now, change-averse Simon has to find a way to step out of his comfort zone before he’s pushed out—without alienating his friends, compromising himself, or fumbling a shot at happiness with the most confusing, adorable guy he’s never met. (From Goodreads)

 


My Thoughts

This was the cutest book that leaves you with all the feels. I went into this book with low expectations. Not because of anything I heard about the book, but because of the hype. I haven’t been enjoying overly hyped books lately. THIS is not the case with this book. If you want something that will make you cry, laugh, and read in one seating…then this is it.

First, let start with the writing. I just loved the writing. It flowed very easily and didn’t feel like anything that was being forced. The characters dialogue was natural, like you were with them the entire time. It was so natural that you will not want to put it down and whenever you do, you will find excuses to pick it back up (trust me 😄 )

Now the characters are beautifully written. I just loved Simon and wished he was one of my friends. I have heard that in the audio book  Simon sounded whiny, but that is not the case in the book…so if you were put off because of this then you should try it again. The characters were believable and was a very good representation of what high school life was (or what I can remember of it). Even the characters that I didn’t like so much, I found myself having empathy for them.

Throughout this story, we watch the relationship between Simon and Blue grow. We are always on our toes trying to figure out who Blue is. Well let’s me just say then when you do find out you will do one of two things…(1) you will admittedly reread the book now with a completely different set of eye because now you know who Blue is, or (2) you will resist all urges to reread the book because it was so good and now you want to reread through a different pair of eyes.

I really tried to find something that I did not like about this book. Yup, that didn’t happen!!

It has teenage friendships that were filled with ups and downs. Different representations of families. Relationship development. Heartbreak. Love. Anger. Forgiveness.

This book filled me with emotions of anger, sadness, warmth, happiness…and many more. I laughed out  loud and also cried a couple times, which is rare for me.


Want to know more about the author?? Check out more about Becky Albertalli

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

