Wink Poppy Midnight by April Genevieve Tucholke

23203106
4/5 Stars

Name: Wink Poppy Midnight
Author: April Genevieve Tucholke
Genre: YA: Mystery
Publication Date: March 22, 2016
Publisher: Dial Books
Pages: 247
How did I get this book: Library

Synopsis (from Goodreads)

Every story needs a hero.
Every story needs a villain.
Every story needs a secret.

Wink is the odd, mysterious neighbor girl, wild red hair and freckles. Poppy is the blond bully and the beautiful, manipulative high school queen bee. Midnight is the sweet, uncertain boy caught between them. Wink. Poppy. Midnight. Two girls. One boy. Three voices that burst onto the page in short, sharp, bewitching chapters, and spiral swiftly and inexorably toward something terrible or tricky or tremendous.

What really happened?
Someone knows.
Someone is lying.

 

My Thoughts

This is the first book that I read by April Genevieve Tucholke and it is nothing that I expected. As I say this, I still don’t know if this a good thing or bad thing. I will start with the cover…this is a very beautiful cover and I probably would have read it without even reading the synopsis just because of the cover.

This review might be a jumble of weirdness, which is also how I felt reading this book. When I first started reading this book I was really excited for the three different points of view that were giving me an overall view of the situation. It is amazing how one event can be seen so many different ways. However, that being said, I found that I was just being told what was going on instead of being shown. Now this is not always a bad thing, but this happened throughout the entire book. Like I said above, this is the first book by this author, so this might be her writing style. I wasn’t sure if I was going to continue the book because of this, but after 10 minutes of reading I looked down and realized that I had just read 30 pages…I’m not a really fast reader. So, after noticing that I figured I would continue.

…And I am so glad I did!!

This is one of those stories that can’t be described that much without spoiling the turn of events…and trust me, you don’t want those spoiled. Everything moved at a fast pace and I finished this book in one day, which was probably only a couple hours but I had to stop to do other things…like feeding my children and cleaning the house. But every moment I had was back in this book.

Now, if your anything like me, you will leave this book wondering what the hell you just read. I will filled with so many different emotions that I needed time to sit with this book.

Here are my issues with the book which are not necessarily bad things…

  1. I didn’t overly like the writing style but it seemed to work
  2. Wink started out really childish and I spent the entire time with Luna Lovegood in my head
  3. I kept feeling bad for Poppy and then wanting to slap her…and then I would feel bad…and then I would want to slap her AGAIN
  4. Midnight was just Midnight…nothing special at all
  5. What is with all the weird names that have no purpose??
  6. And finally, the ‘what the hell just happened’ twist

Now lets take a minute and talk about the twist without giving anything away. Some people like an out of the blue turn of events that leaves your mouth hanging open twist and others don’t. Throughout the second half of the book I was trying to guess the end, and then something would happened. I had three different endings in my head and none of them happened. I was friggin close…does that count 😛

I wanted to throw this book across the room when I was finished and not because I didn’t like it.

So, this just might have been a huge ramble of words that made no sense, but all I can say is that…for all the reasons that I normally would hate a book, they ended up being the reasons that I liked this one.

If you are interested in learning more about this author or her other works you can check her out here.

 

Have you read this book yet? What were your thoughts?

Leave a Reply

