With Malice by Eileen Cook

4/5 Stars

Name: With Malice
Author: Eileen Cook
Genre: YA: Thriller/Suspense
Publication Date: June 7, 2016
Publisher: HMH Books for Young Readers
Pages: 320
How did I get this book: ARC copy from the publisher

Synopsis
For fans of We Were Liars and The Girl on the Train comes a chilling, addictive, compulsive read about a teenage girl who wakes up in a hospital bed and cannot remember the last six weeks of her life, including the accident that killed her best friend–only what if the accident wasn’t an accident?

Eighteen-year-old Jill Charron wakes up in a hospital room, leg in a cast, stitches in her face and a big blank canvas where the last 6 weeks should be. She comes to discover she was involved in a fatal accident while on a school trip in Italy three days previous but was jetted home by her affluent father in order to receive quality care. Care that includes a lawyer. And a press team. Because maybe the accident…wasn’t an accident. Wondering not just what happened but what she did, Jill tries to piece together the events of the past six weeks before she loses her thin hold on her once-perfect life. (From Goodreads)

My Thoughts
This is my first Eileen Cook book. With Malice hooks you right away and keeps you turning the pages for all 320 of them. In most books I can make predictions what will happen, but Cook keeps you guessing throughout the entire book. I found myself shaking my kindle in frustration when I would get to the end of the next chapter without any idea of what could have happened.

The book did drag in spots making me think that the story could have been shortened, but it didn’t really take much away from it since I wanted to find out what happened so badly that I kept reading through when the it slowed down.

You feel bad for Jill Charron from the beginning and feel her confusion and pain as she tries to find out the events that led up to her fatal accident. During this time we watch a friendship develop between Jill and a girl that she meets in the hospital. I did feel uncomfortable with the characters when I reached the end of the book (not wanting to reveal to much).

With this being said, I would still highly recommend this book to anyone that enjoys a good suspense novel. The issues that I had with the book did not take away the experience that I had. I was left feeling a variety of emotions.

If you are interested in more information about Eileen Cook you can check her and her other books out here.

I received this book free from NetGalley and HMH Books for Young Readers for an honest review. This post contains affiliate links. I may receive a small commission of your purchase when you click on a book link

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s