A Century Turns New Hopes, New Fears–America 1988 to 2008 By William Bennett

Anything to do with politics makes me shutter most of the time, but I was running out of things to read and this book was free through Book Sneeze. A Century Turns New Hopes, New Fears written by William Bennett was not what I expected it to be when I first sat down to read.

This book allowed the reader to explore 20 years of history from 1988 to 2008. There were times that I had to force myself to get through it, but for the most part it brought history to life. If history books were like this when I was in school I might not shutter now at the thought of it.

A Century Turns New Hopes, New Fears started with the election of George H. Bush and ended with the election of Barack Obama. It covered major issues that were experienced over the 20 year span, from the Oklahoma City Bombing to the war in Iraq. I am one of those people that try to avoid these major issues when they present themselves in the news, which makes this book an excellent resource for people like me.

Bennett writes in a way that keeps the reader engaged. There were times during the Presidential Elections in the beginning where it was a bit long and boring, but if you can get though that part then you will find yourself reading a book that is difficult to put down.

I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”



Leave a Reply

